Skip to content

May we suggest

News / February 15, 2010

RBC Canadian Painting Competition Semifinalists Announced

The Canadian Art Foundation, with RBC, is pleased to announce the 15 semifinalists in the 12th annual RBC Canadian Painting Competition.
Brenda Draney, winner of the 2009 RBC Canadian Painting Competition Brenda Draney, winner of the 2009 RBC Canadian Painting Competition

The 2010 jury panel is made up of nine distinguished members of the visual arts community, including artists, collectors, gallery directors and curators representing every region of Canada.

On September 29, the 2010 winner will be announced and all 15 paintings will be on exhibit at the Power Plant in Toronto. All finalists will be featured in Canadian Art magazine and on the web at and

The RBC Canadian Painting Competition supports and nurtures emerging Canadian painters in their early career by providing them a forum to display their artistic talent to the country and open doors to future opportunity.

Congratulations to the 2010 semifinalists:


Western Canada

* Eli Bornowsky of Vancouver
* Aaron Carpenter of Vancouver
* Megan Hepburn of Vancouver
* Laura Piasta of Coquitlam
* Melanie Rocan of Winnipeg


Central Canada

* Sarah Cale of Toronto
* Scott Everingham of Toronto
* Jon Reed of Toronto
* Mark Stebbins of Toronto
* Beth Stuart of Toronto


Eastern Canada

* Hugo Bergeron of Montreal
* Scott Bertram of Halifax
* Benjamin Klein of Montreal
* Alexis Lavoie of Montreal
* Rick Leong of Montreal