Skip to content

May we suggest

Wanda Koop Research Fund

The Wanda Koop Research is an award of $15,000 that recognizes a mid-career visual artist and is designed to fund research activities related to their artistic practice.

Created by Canadian Art, the award is named in honour of Governor General’s Award recipient Wanda Koop. Candidates for this award are nominated and decided upon by an independent national jury. Jury members for the inaugural prize in 2018 included Marie-Eve Beaupré, curator of the collection at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal; Julie Nagam, chair of the history of Indigenous arts of North America at the Winnipeg Art Gallery and the University of Winnipeg; Jenifer Papararo, executive director of Plug In ICA in Winnipeg and founding member of the artist collective Instant Coffee; and Jan Peacock, artist, writer and MFA program director at NSCAD University in Halifax.