Skip to content

May we suggest

News / April 27, 2016

Jury Announced for RBC Canadian Painting Competition

Artists Tammi Campbell and Kent Monkman are among this year's jurists. Applications are due May 3 at 4 p.m. Eastern Time.
Tammi Campbell in her Saskatoon studio, January 2014.  Photo: Matt Ramage. Tammi Campbell in her Saskatoon studio, January 2014. Photo: Matt Ramage.

Nine respected members of the Canadian visual-arts community have been selected by RBC and the Canadian Art Foundation, publisher of Canadian Art, to serve as the jury for the 18th annual RBC Canadian Painting Competition.

The winner of the RBC Canadian Painting Competition receives $25,000 and the two honourable mentions each receive $15,000. Their three paintings also become part of the RBC Corporate Art Collection. The remaining 12 finalists each receive $2,500.

The deadline for this year’s competition is May 3 at 4 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time. Applications can be submitted online at

The following jury will evaluate the applications:

Western Canada

Sophie Brodovitch, director, Equinox Gallery, Vancouver
Tammi Campbell, artist, Saskatoon
Reid Shier, director/curator, Presentation House Gallery, Vancouver

Central Canada

Kent Monkman, artist, Toronto
Georgia Scherman, director, Georgia Scherman Projects, Toronto
Beth Stuart, artist and RBC Canadian Painting Competition alumni, Toronto

Eastern Canada

Gemey Kelly, director/curator, Owens Gallery, Mt. Allison University, Sackville
Harold Klunder, artist, Montreal
Saelan Twerdy, art critic, Montreal

Finalists will be announced on June 30, and all 15 artist finalists will have their work exhibited at the Power Plant in Toronto.

The competition is part of the RBC Emerging Artist Project which supports the life cycle of the artist, from emerging to established. The Canadian Art Foundation publishes Canadian Art, Canada’s most widely read art magazine, among other art-educational endeavours.