Skip to content

May we suggest

News / February 7, 2017

Scotiabank Announces Longlist for $50,000 Photography Award

Eleven artists from across Canada have been nominated for the 2017 award, which comes with a $50,000 prize, a major solo exhibition and a photo book deal.
Barbara Astman <em>untitled (ping pong paddle), series: Red</em> 1981 Courtesy Corkin Gallery (Image 1/14) Barbara Astman untitled (ping pong paddle), series: Red 1981 Courtesy Corkin Gallery (Image 1/14)

Eleven nominees were announced this morning for the 2017 Scotiabank Photography Award. The award winner will receive a $50,000 prize, a major solo exhibition at the Ryerson Image Centre in Toronto and have a book of their work published and distributed by Steidl of Germany.

This year’s nominees are:

Vikky Alexander, Vancouver, British Columbia

Raymonde April, Montréal, Québec

Barbara Astman, Toronto, Ontario

Valérie Blass, Montréal, Québec

Dana Claxton, Vancouver, British Columbia

Marlene Creates, Portugal Cove, Newfoundland and Labrador

Donigan Cumming, Montréal, Québec

Nancy Davenport, Vancouver, British Columbia

Rosalie Favell, Ottawa, Ontario

Shelley Niro, Brantford, Ontario

Jeff Thomas, Ottawa, Ontario

Artists from across Canada were nominated for the SPA by a range of art professionals: Daina Augaitis, chief curator and associate director of the Vancouver Art Gallery; Mireille Eagan, curator of contemporary art at the Rooms in St. John’s; Heather Igloliorte, associate professor and Concordia University Research Chair in Indigenous Art History and Community Engagement; Ken Lum, professor and chair of the department of fine art at the University of Pennsylvania; Patrick Mahon, artist and professor of visual art at Western University; Wanda Nanibush, assistant curator of Canadian and Indigenous art at the Art Gallery of Ontario; Jenifer Papararo, executive director of the Plug In ICA in Winnipeg; Brenda Francis Pelkey, professor in the School of Creative Arts at the University of Windsor; Jonathan Shaughnessy, associate curator of contemporary art at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa; Liz Wylie, curator of the Kelowna Art Gallery; and John Zeppetelli, director and chief curator of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal.

The shortlist will be announced in March, and the winner will be announced in May.

Last year’s winner was Suzy Lake, and previous SPA winners include Stan Douglas, Arnaud Maggs and Lynne Cohen.