Current Issue Cover

Jurors Announced for 2017 RBC Canadian Painting Competition

This morning, RBC announced the seven artists, curators and gallerists who will be jurying the 19th annual RBC Canadian Painting Competition, produced in partnership with Canadian Art.

The winner of competition, which typically garners more than 500 applications from across Canada, will receive $25,000, while the two honourable mentions are awarded $15,000 each. Their three paintings also become part of the RBC Corporate Art Collection. The remaining 12 finalists each receive $2,500.

The deadline for this year’s competition is May 3, 2017, at 4 p.m. EDTApplications can be submitted online at

In addition to experts from across Canada, this year’s jury includes an international representative.

Western Canada

Michelle Jacques, chief curator, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria
Joseph Tisiga, artist

Central Canada

Frances Loeffler, curator, Oakville Galleries
Sky Glabush, artist

Eastern Canada

Mireille Eagan, curator, the Rooms Provincial Art Gallery
Daisy Desrosiers, director, Battat Contemporary


Sascha Braunig, artist

The finalists for this year’s award will be announced on June 29, 2017. The announcement will be followed by an exhibition of work by the 15 finalists at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa from September 1 to October 22, 2017.

Past winners of the prize include Brian Hunter, Patrick Cruz and Tiziana La Melia.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Comment



Note: Fields denoted with (*) are required.