Current Issue Cover

News in Brief: Teitelbaum Departs AGO, Audain Prize Awarded and Notman Collection Supported

Our editors’ weekly roundup of Canadian art news.

Michael Morris, Elizabeth Zvonar and Cate Rimmer have been announced as the recipients of British Columbia’s most prestigious prizes in the visual arts—the Audain Prize, the VIVA Award and the Alvin Balkind Curator’s Prize, respectively. The prizes will be formally bestowed in a ceremony on April 16.

Matthew Teitelbaum, long-time director and CEO of the Art Gallery of Ontario, announced yesterday that he is leaving the institution at the end of June and moving to the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, where he will assume the position of director.

The Art Gallery of Greater Victoria has appointed Haema Sivanesan to a newly created position within the curatorial department, which she will begin in June. Sivanesan comes to the position with a strong background in Asian art: she previously served as executive director of the South Asian Visual Arts Centre in Toronto and Centre A in Vancouver.

Standard Life announced yesterday that it is making three substantial donations to Montreal organizations, including the McCord Museum. The $475,000 donation is earmarked for the Notman Collection, a selection of 400,000 photographs by pioneering 19th-century photographer William Notman.

On Tuesday, the Toronto Friends of the Visual Arts announced their 2015 award recipients. Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art director David Liss, artists Nadia Belerique, Laurie Kang, Niall McClelland, the Art Canada Institute and Niagara Custom Lab were awarded prizes ranging in value from $5,000 to $15,000.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Comment



Note: Fields denoted with (*) are required.