Skip to content

May we suggest

News / April 12, 2017

150 Indigenous Artists Receive $1.5 Million in Awards

The winners of the REVEAL Indigenous Art Awards have been announced, with 150 artists in a variety of fields each receiving $10,000
Filmmaker Caroline Monnet is among the recipients of the REVEAL Indigneous Art Awards. Photo: Éric Cinq-Mars. Filmmaker Caroline Monnet is among the recipients of the REVEAL Indigneous Art Awards. Photo: Éric Cinq-Mars.

It’s a set of awards quite unlike any seen before in Canada, both in scale and scope.

The winners of the REVEAL Indigenous Art Awards have been announced, with 150 artists each receiving $10,000—for a total of $1.5 million in cash awards disbursed. The aim of this one-time-only REVEAL prize? To “fuel Indigenous arts practice for the next 150 years,” says the Hnatyshyn Foundation. Practitioners in a wide range of art forms are being honoured, including visual artists, media artists, craftspeople, musicians, writers, storytellers, dancers and actors.

Of the 150 artists selected to receive an award, 11 are from the North, 40 are from BC, 26 are from the Prairies, 50 are from Ontario, 18 are from Quebec and five are from the Atlantic region.

Among the visual artists who are receiving the prize are Shuvinai Ashoona, Meryl McMaster, Shelley Niro, Ruth Cuthand, Kent Monkman and Christi Belcourt. Writers include Tomson Highway, Eden Robinson and Drew Hayden Taylor. Musicians include Tanya Tagaq and Bear Witness. Filmmaker Caroline Monnet and theatre practitioner Tara Beagan are also among those being honoured, as is Canadian Art Indigenous editor-at-large Lindsay Nixon.

The laureates have been invited to receive their awards on May 22 during a ceremony in Winnipeg that includes National Chief Perry Bellegarde, Mayor of Winnipeg Brian Bowman and Canada Council CEO Simon Brault as speakers.

Laureates were selected by a national jury of peers led by Victoria Henry, chair of the Hnatyshyn Foundation.

Here, in alphabetical order, is the complete list of REVEAL Indigenous Art Award winners:

Nathan Adler

Susan Aglukark

Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm

cherrish alexander

Eugene Alfred

Donald Amero

Judy Anderson

Dallas Arcand

Joanne Arnott

Shuvinai Ashoona

Joe Jaw Ashoona

Morgan Asoyuf

Sonny Assu

Kristen Auger

Kenny Alvin Baird

Mary Anne Barkhouse

Tara Beagan

Christi Belcourt

Michael Belmore

Jordan Bennett

Lori Blondeau

Sid Bobb

Ludovic Boney

Rita Bouvier

Raes Calvert

Nicole Camphaug

Celeigh Cardinal

Cliff Cardinal

Liz Carter

Christian Chapman

David Charette

Christa Couture

Francine Cunningham

Thirza Cuthand

Ruth Cuthand

Beatrice Deer

Treffrey Deerfoot

Cris Derksen

Todd DeVries

Cherie Dimaline

Wally Dion

Jaime Drew(Black)

Jason Eaglespeaker

Jaalen Edenshaw

Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay

Melissa General

Tara Gereaux

Dorothy Grant

Phil Gray

Margaret Grenier

Shannon Gustafson

Louise Bernice Halfe

David Hannan

Ya’Ya Heit

Tomson Highway

Jack Horne

Tasha Hubbard

Shawn Hunt

Jason Hunt

Mark Igloliorte

Geronimo Inutiq

Ursula Johnson

Alanis King

Helen Knott

Frances Koncan

Cheyanna Kootenhayoo

Taran Kootenhayoo

Jeanette Kotowich

Michael Kusugak

George Littlechild

Mary Longman

Kevin Loring

Ernie Louttit

Amy Malbeuf

Jeremiah Manitopyes

Doreen Manuel

Rebecca Maracle

Candace Maracle

Tishna Marlowe

Jean Marshall

Gail Maurice

Lindsay McIntyre

Melody McKiver

Jessica McMann

Meryl McMaster

Mary McPherson

Meghan Meisters

Monique Mojica

Kent Monkman

Caroline Monnet

Courtney Montour

Calvin Morberg

Starr Muranko

Nadia Myre

Darlene Naponse

David Neel

Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas

Shelley Niro

Lindsay Nixon

Mike Patten

Bertha Paull

Grant Pauls

Louis-Karl Picard-Sioui

Raven Kanatakta Polson-Lahache

Louise Profeit-LeBlanc

PJ Prudat

Andrew Qappik

Skeena Reece

Amanda Rheaume

Eden Robinson

Kathia Rock

Robin Rorick

Isabella Rose Rowan-Weetaluktuk

Amanda Roy

Armand Garnet Ruffo

john sabourin

Nicotye Samayualie

Troy Sebastian

Frank Shebageget

Kristi Sinclair

Yves Sioui Durand

doug smarch jr

Santee Smith

brian solomon

Debra Sparrow

Kali Spitzer

Adrian Stimson

Amanda Strong

Leonard Sumner

Alan Syliboy

Tanya Tagaq

Drew Hayden Taylor

Jeff Thomas

ehren thomas

Joseph Tisiga

Janice Toulouse

Richard Van Camp

Lavinia Van Heuvelen

Katherena Vermette

Niki (Nicole) Watts

Karen Lee White

Roxann Karonhiarokwas Whitebean

Keith Whiteduck

Joshua Williams

Stan Williams

Jennifer Williams

Tara Williamson

Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory

Keith Wolfe-Smarch


This article was corrected on April 17, 2017. The original copy referred to five of the winning artists as being from “the Maritimes”—a term that does not include Newfoundland and Labrador. This has been corrected to “the Atlantic region,” a term which does include Newfoundland and Labrador, as well as Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and PEI.