Skip to content

May we suggest

News / May 8, 2019

39 Artists Announced for Montreal’s Momenta Biennale

Among those participating are Meagan Musseau, Elisabeth Belliveau, Francis Alÿs, Camille Turner and Victoria Sin
Elisabeth Belliveau, <em>Still Life with Fallen Fruit (after A Breath of Life, Clarice Lispector)</em> (detail), 2017–19. Elisabeth Belliveau, Still Life with Fallen Fruit (after A Breath of Life, Clarice Lispector) (detail), 2017–19.

MOMENTA | Biennale de l’image has announced the full list of artists for its 16th edition, titled The Life of Things. The biennale is due to launch September 5 and run until October 13 at various Montreal locations.

The biennale theme for this iteration, The Life of Things, is intended to reference consumption, overconsumption, material culture, and the still life in an age of environmental crisis, among other concepts.

Biennale curator María Wills Londoño has worked in collaboration with Audrey Genois and Maude Johnson on this theme and artist selection.

In total, 39 artists from 20 different countries will participate through 13 exhibitions. Exhibition partners include Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Les Rencontres d’Arles, the McCord Museum, the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts, the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Musée d’art de Joliette, and more.

Here is the complete artist list:

Laura Aguilar (United States)

Francis Alÿs (Belgium/Mexico)

Kader Attia (Algeria/France)

Elisabeth Belliveau (Canada)

Karen Paulina Biswell (Colombia/France)

Maeve Brennan (United Kingdom)

Jonathas de Andrade (Brazil)

Raphaëlle de Groot (Canada)

Hannah Doerksen (Canada)

Patricia Domínguez (Chile)

Chun Hua Catherine Dong (China/Canada)

Alinka Echeverría (Mexico/United Kingdom)

Peter Fischli and David Weiss (Switzerland)

Jeneen Frei Njootli (Canada)

Marina Gadonneix (France)

Gauri Gill (India)

Maggie Groat (Canada)

Felicity Hammond (United Kingdom)

Jérôme Havre (France/Canada)

Laura Huertas Millán (Colombia/France)

Keyezua (Angola)

Kapwani Kiwanga (Canada/France)

Anouk Kruithof (The Netherlands)

Maryse Larivière (Canada)

Taus Makhacheva (Russia)

Ana Mendieta (Cuba)

Izumi Miyazaki (Japan)

Bridget Moser (Canada)

Meagan Musseau (Canada)

Rafael Ortega (Mexico)

Juan Ortiz-Apuy (Costa Rica/Canada)

Celia Perrin Sidarous (Canada)

Miguel Angel Ríos (Argentina)

Jamie Ross (Canada)

Victoria Sin (Canada/United Kingdom)

Cauleen Smith (United States)

Batia Suter (Switzerland/The Netherlands)

Camille Turner (Canada)