Current Issue Cover
RBC Canadian Painting Competition

RBC Canadian Painting Competition 2017


Finalists of the 2016 RBC Canadian Painting Competition with Canadian Art editor-in-chief David Balzer and representatives of RBC

The RBC Canadian Painting Competition, established in 1999, is produced in partnership with the Canadian Art Foundation. The competition seeks to support and nurture the next generation of Canadian artists by providing them with a forum to display their talents to the country. Finalists are selected by three regional juries, comprised of experienced gallery directors, artists, curators and industry leaders. Jurors choose five paintings from each of the three regions, narrowing down the selection to 15 finalists.

The three juries convene for a two-day deliberation, and determine one national winner and two honourable mentions from the shortlist. The national winner receives a purchase prize of $25,000, the two honourable mentions each receive $15,000 and the remaining 12 finalists each receive $2,500.

The top three works become part of the RBC Corporate Collection, which holds more than 4,000 works of art collected over the past century.

Entries for the 2017 competition are currently being accepted online and must be received by May 3, 2017 at 4 p.m. EST. Finalists will be announced on June 29, 2017, and all 15 artists will have their work exhibited at the National Gallery of Canada.

The 2017 jury consists of seven respected members of the visual-arts community, representing 4 regions:
Mireille Eagan, Curator, The Rooms Provincial Art Gallery
Daisy Desrosiers, Director, Battat Contemporary

Frances Loeffler, Curator, Oakville Galleries
Sky Glabush, Artist

Michelle Jacques, Chief Curator, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria
Joseph Tisiga, Artist

Sascha Braunig, Artist

Print Friendly, PDF & Email